“Firecracker” by Steel Train

19 Jul

“Firecracker” by Steel Train

I went and saw Steel Train in concert on my sixteenth birthday.  They were/still are pretty much my favorite band.  They sang this song even though it wasn’t the album they were promoting.  So in other words, they hadn’t practiced the song nor had they planned to play it.  But they did and they dedicated to me and wished me happy birthday. I’ll never forget it.

I think this band has great music.  They’ve got a great sound.  They have evolved SOOO much since they started up.  They never drown out any part of their music.  The instrumental solos are to die for, and the vocals are unique.  But on top of all of that, they have a great image.  If I had a band. I would want it to be like Steel Train.

This song really hit me hard just because the lyrics.  The tune is pretty up beat and happy but the chorus just killed me inside, a girl who has had to shut the door on many loves because of her lifestyle.   Every single time I sing these lyrics to the song, I die a little inside:

“I saw the lonely road
You left and said to me don’t follow
Cause i’ll only bring you sorrow
And on down my lonely road
You left and i just said – no…”

Setting?  Maybe my sixteenth birthday.  Standing next to Meg who was excited about the little “surprise” my she and Dia had set up for me.

But I think another setting that suits the song well is being in a car…and driving somewhere.  More specifically…Driving away from something. Yeah, that sounds about right.

5 Responses to ““Firecracker” by Steel Train”

  1. Lauren July 19, 2011 at 4:11 am #

    Nice pick! I saw them open for The Starting Line back in ’08. They are awesome!

    • IsGreenJaded July 23, 2011 at 5:21 am #

      Wow, it’s been a while! You gotta go see them now, soooooo much… better (if that’s even possible?)

  2. Joel Regalado July 19, 2011 at 5:08 am #

    Yes, good for a driving ride… 🙂

  3. Johnedel Carlos July 19, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    Thanks for the recommendation, Jade!

    I really dig this song because sounds similar to music I listen to like Mumford & Sons and Jason Mraz.

    • IsGreenJaded July 23, 2011 at 5:21 am #

      Wow, really? I think they sound a world a part. I’m going to have to re-listen to everything!

Leave a Reply

