“Saltwater Room” by Owl City

24 Jul

“Saltwater Room” by Owl City.

Someone was askin’ about one of my “guilty pleasure” songs…?  Well here it is.  I love this song.  Yes, I’m guilty of having it on repeat at times.  Sue me. … 🙂

Owl City, I think, is a band that had caught on to something new.  The vocals are as energetic as the “electronic” sound that is heard in each song.  I like how every song on this albums stays true to “style” and “genre” that it was made in.  Every song is relevant to the album…which makes me respect them a lot.  It is a challenge to keep an album on the same “concept” the whole entire time.

I love when the girl comes in in this song.  It’s kind of refreshing, and makes the song mean so much more… I just love it.

Setting?  On your porch…watching the stars…wondering if “he” or “she” is watching the stars with the same longing as you.   🙂 Corny, I know.  But it’s the perfect setting!

9 Responses to ““Saltwater Room” by Owl City”

  1. Johnedel Carlos July 24, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Another song we both like. This is so awesome!!!

    Anyways. In my opinion this is his best song on the “Ocean Eyes” album. Everyone likes “Vanilla Twilight” and or the brutally overplayed “Fireflies”. I’m a sucker for a ballad-type duet songs (i.e. Bored of Your Love).

    I was wondering did you bring this song up because of your post last night about your crush last night?

    Which brings me to what I think this song means:
    I think this song is from a perspective where he is with the person that they have a crush on. Like whenever your around your crush you get really shy and nervous and just want to leave a good first impression (First verse of the song).

    The second verse is the moment after he was with his crush and where you can’t get enough sleep and keep thinking about the special moment they just had (lyric: When I feel warm with your hand in mine) that just has you smiling for the rest of the night, and felt like that one moment just made your whole year.

    The chorus is saying that he doesn’t really have the courage to tell that person that he likes her. He just hopes that she notices overtime that he has feelings for her. He also feels that the time spent together is never enough. By the end of the chorus he wants her to ask, “So tell me darlin’, do you wish we’d fall in love?” and he wants to reply with “Yeah, all the time”.

    P.S. I was the one that asked about the guilty pleasure songs and thank you for actually posting one.

  2. Krystn Olido July 25, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    aw my sister introduced me to this song. i love it too, like you were in a dream when you’re listening to it, the feeling is really really different.
    i love the girl part too!! her voice is so unique (i know with the help of technology) which really intensifies the feeling of the song.
    i love the lyrics also. seems like the guy wasn’t sure what to do,the introvert,the motion fatigue, which are signs you wouldn’t see to those overconfident dishonest guys. (i’m not saying that all guys that never become nervous were all fake lol,)
    the song has a story, a careful process,like in courting. i love how the songwriter emphasized the need of time.
    the guitar and piano are dreamy.
    i was listening to that song now! 😀

  3. Jennifer Todd July 25, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    hey Jade, do you like The Postal Service? (sorry if this is a dumb question, like, “do you like music?” lol)

    bc as for duet songs in this type of genre, i love The Postal Service’s “Nothing Better” 🙂
    if you love cheesy lyrics you’ll love “will someone please call a surgeon to come crack my ribs and repair this broken heart……”

    • IsGreenJaded July 26, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      LOVE the Postal Service. They had me at “Such Great Heights”… I feel another song of the day comin’ up 😉

  4. god@heaven.org July 26, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    I’m glad you like this song. I was worried that your taste in music only encompassed the obscure or indie alternative.

  5. Ryan Dugenske July 26, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    I’ve been through days where nothing could get any worse and on one of those “It’s Monday, raining, I have a 2 mile walk to class, my girlfriend just cheated on me, I’m broke” days I turn to Owl City. This song is great and along with Adam, Breanne Duren’s vocals are a welcome addition.

    Simply put, life will get you down but don’t ever stop striving to be as happy as an Owl City song.

    • IsGreenJaded July 27, 2011 at 5:21 am #

      Couldn’t have said it better myself… And people that cheat … ugh, I have no words for them… (except that they are lame people that don’t even deserve the lousiest of relationships)… but other than that and a few other choice words…Nothin’ to say really…

  6. Sheryl Bakalov July 28, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    ❤ LOVE Owl City 🙂

  7. Annie Le July 28, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    My fave song of your Tunes!! The melody is so soothing… such a lovely love song…and the porch and watching the stars is the greatest place for lovers to be hand in hand! 🙂 Thanks for introducing new artists, to me at least, Jade!

Leave a Reply

