“West Coast” by Coconut Records

27 Jul

“West Coast” by Coconut Records

Fun Fact.  One guy in Coconut Records is the brother of one guy in the band Rooney.  I’m too lazy to get names and more info, sorry!

“West Coast” is a song that I really can relate to on several different levels. Obviously, I am a West Coast girl and always will be.  Sorry Florida and New York, but I just wasn’t feelin’ it.

Also…*sigh* It’s kind of my mine and Misty’s song. She tried to hide in one of my suitcases once when I was leaving for a tour (tennis tournaments, not music related) and I had to tell her to get out when I was finished packing… I remember seeing her face when she said, “But why, Jade?  Don’t I fit? Can’t I come with you?”  I hated myself for telling her the truth which was, “No.”

Anyway, the words to the song just kind of dance around memories of Misty and I…

“I wish you could put yourself in my suitcase.  I love you, standing all alone in a black coat. . .”

“We both go together if one falls down.  I talk out loud like you’re still around…”

 

She has always been my little ray of sunshine…

 

“I miss you. I’m going back home to the West Coast.”

It’s a warm bitter kind of feeling I get with this song.  Misty and I love singing to it together on long drives at night. Give it a try?

 

 

5 Responses to ““West Coast” by Coconut Records”

  1. Johnedel Carlos July 27, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Great artist, Jade. Another *Internet High Fave* Oddly enough I found out about this band after watching Scott Pilgrim. Why you may ask? Fun fact, if you didn’t know already know, the singer is Evil-Ex #7 Gideon Graves, real name Jason Schwartzman. You probably already knew that. Who knew he can sing though, right? Maybe that’s why Ramona fell in love with evil-ex #7. *jokes*

    I really like this band so much though. He has a really great voice thought. I like his other song called “Slowly” because the person singing background vocals is Zooey Deschanel. 🙂

    P.S. That’s a really great picture of you two siblings. I’m guessing that photo was taken 2 years ago. It’s great to know that you have a tight relationship with everyone else in your family and just having that one really rocky one (I guess you already discussed that enough in your blogs). I wish my brother and I had a closer relationship since there are only two of us and we only started to get closer just as he’s about to leave for the Navy.

  2. clarizze July 28, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    awww u and misty looks so cute… and the song is super catchy… thanks for sharing this wonderful song 🙂

  3. Krystn Olido July 28, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    gorgeous! i love the picture! the two of you are beautiful as always…and gemmy! hehe..
    i can see the strong bond between you and misty, like you’re twins with different birthdays lol
    so, i guess i’ll have to listen to this song 😀

  4. Annie Le July 28, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your daily Tunes with us! 🙂 And I love this photo of you and Misty… and of course Gemmy Frampton! btw, you look gorgeous with Long hair! 😉

  5. A little piece of sincerity December 29, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    This is such a classic song. You have great taste!

Leave a Reply

