“Fortune Teller” by Forest Fire

6 Aug

“Fortune Teller” by Forest Fire.

I have yet to show this song to someone and have them like it.  Fortunately, that doesn’t hinder the pleasure I am able to get from the song.  It’s a bit dark.  It’s short and the lyrics are very sharp.  I don’t know why I like this song, but I like it…No one can change my mind.  It’s almost a spiritual song for me.  I love it-it-it-it-it!

Anyway, I thought it time to reveal this song to you.  Maybe someone out there will agree with me.   Maybe I’ll confirm the “no one in the world likes this song” idea too.  We shall see!

-IGJ

14 Responses to ““Fortune Teller” by Forest Fire”

  1. Krist R August 6, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Never heard this song before so I decided to listen to it before reading your comment on it. I liked the beat to it and first time listening i cracked up at the part about going to kill people you hate (idk why). Then I read your comment and found it interesting no one you know likes it. It is an acquired taste i guess. Thanks for sharing Jade. I enjoy it so much that I am currently downloading it to my iphone. So now you know at least one other person who enjoys the song and I bet a few other people might enjoy this song too.

    • IsGreenJaded August 7, 2011 at 12:11 am #

      I laugh sometimes too. Glad you gave it a chance 🙂 Some liked it yes, some didn’t apparently though. Oh well. Music is music!

  2. Omar Iñiguez August 6, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Ok here is my honest opinion of the song just like you asked.
    First off I did like the sound of it. and what I could gather the first listen through the song it feels more like a person than a song.
    In the song this person is looking for a place to fit in.
    Scared of what people think of him but ig good with words so he molds his character fit in with whoever he meets. And the lyrics “when the cactus is in bloom, I’m going to ask you to be my wife” like he is also looking for love. This really is a more complex song than what it first appears to be. I like it.

  3. candoor August 6, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    i’ve got to find the song and hear it before i can have an opinion (unless i’m too much of a noob to find a link to it on this page 🙂

    • IsGreenJaded August 7, 2011 at 12:10 am #

      No. I’m too much of a noob to even post a link to it. HA!

  4. Ryan August 6, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    this song sucks.

    that’s not true.. I’ve played it 12 times now and can’t get past the fact that I just like it. hmm

  5. Sunny the Skater August 6, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Seriously? No one you have ever shown this song to has liked it? I’ve been listening to this song for like the past hour while I’ve been folding laundry. Thanks for posting this, I really like their song Sunshine City as well (and not just because my name is Sunny ha ha).

    • IsGreenJaded August 7, 2011 at 12:09 am #

      Nope. I’m going to go listen to Sunshine City now. And no comments from you and then bam, I am showered with comments from Sunny the Skater 🙂 Must have been the skater blog 😉 Glad your here!

  6. Kenny T. August 6, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Hmm, I’m not sure what I think yet. I don’t have it as a like nor a dislike yet. The lyrics and sounds I do like, but I’m not sold at the moment. There are some songs I’ll like with one listen whereas other songs will require a few replays. Okay actually as I’m writing this I have listened to the song 3-4 more times >___< I like it. First I just heard the audio file. Now I'm listening and watching the music video. Suitcase percussion, the guys voice, and sound of their mixed string instruments all do something to my head… Especially the girl playing bass, that sound sticks out the most to me.

    My aunt would call this sleeper music, but I like it. I have a good amount of "sleeper" music! Pshh, It doesn't put me to sleep =D

    • IsGreenJaded August 7, 2011 at 12:09 am #

      Your comment made me laugh as I read how it progressed! Hahahahahaha. Thanks for giving it a chance.

      My dad says all of my music puts him to sleep. (All the better maybe?) 🙂

  7. mybaditsnotyouitsme August 6, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    This song is terrible. Never mind the weird lyrics, he is singing like a blabbering drunk and is out of tune mostly. No one should pay for this verbal excrement, seriously. Even “Pumped Up Kicks” trounces this by miles in terms of listenability.

    • IsGreenJaded August 7, 2011 at 12:07 am #

      To each their own, kid, to each their own.

  8. suzie s (@suzie_s) August 12, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Ok, I have to admit I haven’t had a chance before to listen to all the songs you’ve been putting up… but finally got around to it and started putting together a list in spotify 😉 Had no tunes in mind to listen while I worked today, decided to give my Jaded Tunes playlist a spin. I’m jamming along to all the songs, when this one song had this weird impression on me. The beat was nice, the vocals were unique, but something was so weird about it, I had to see what song it was. About a second before I saw who it was, this entry popped into my head. Sure enough, it was this song!

    After listening to it, my first impressions are: I don’t love it; I don’t hate it.. but am intrigued. I don’t even know how else to describe it but that. I think I could love it after a few more listens. It’s kind of like Bon Iver to me. At first listen, it was so different to me that I wasn’t sure what to think of it… and after a few listens, I’m in love. So there you have it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

